Archives

Denis Fétisson

Denis Fétisson

 

DDenis Fétisson began his career at the age of 14 in the bakery trade. It was in the restaurant of his starred-chef godfather Paul Bajade – Les Chênes Verts in Tourtour – that he first discovered his passion for the kitchen skills he would learn at the side of this venerated chef patron … It was no picnic, but what an adventure!

Having qualified, the future proved equally exciting, as Denis joined the Belle Otero in Cannes with Francis Chauveau (2 Michelin stars)… a chef never satisfied with anything short of perfection.

Roger Vergé (3 Michelin stars) at Le Moulin de Mougins proved as generous as his huge reputation suggests.

The time spent with the Jacob family (2 stars) at Le Bateau Ivre in Courchevel, and with the Gleize family (1 star) at La Bonne Etape, introduced him to the heart and soul of Relais et Châteaux. Time spent with Nico Ladenis at Chez Nico, the 3-starred chef’s restaurant in London’s Park Lane, taught him attention to detail and the importance of organisation. After that, his travels took him to Morocco, Norway and the Camino Réal Mexico City.

The essential skills learned in these famous hotels and restaurants are all part of the personal style established and developed by Denis today. His central belief is: “Yes to local values and produce, and yes to appearance where it serves flavour”, without, of course, forgetting the virtues of minute attention to detail. He became the Chef at the Relais Châteaux Le Daniel in the 8th arrondissement of Paris, where he was awarded the Prix Jacquart for ‘Best Young Chef in French Cuisine’, sponsored by Yannick Alleno. From there, Denis moved to the Cheval Blanc in Courchevel to work alongside the 3-starred chef, and after two seasons of unremitting hard work, was awarded his own two Michelin stars in 2010.

In July that year, he opened his own restaurant La Place de Mougins with his wife Muriel and a full team. His is a consciously and determinedly family business. Denis Fétisson offers his diners the most creative cuisine de marché built around fresh market produce.

The constant commitment here is to ensuring the painstaking level of detail required to get as close as possible to what diners expect, and, of course, to showcase the French culinary expertise that is an essential part of our heritage.

I hope you take the time to think about this quotation, because I believe that it encapsulates the concept of creativity in just a few words.

REMEMBERING OUR TRADITIONS IS SURELY OUR GREATEST HERITAGE
DENIS FÉTISSON

It is on this basis that we seek to achieve excellence, and sharing that experience with you is our greatest reward.
Every member of the La Place de Mougins team wishes you a wonderful, and we hope unforgettable, experience when you visit our beautiful establishment.

 

 Le calendrier des Produits à l’Honneur

Archives

Denis Fétisson

Denis Fétisson

 

La carrière de Denis Fétisson débute dans le monde de la boulangerie ; il a 14 ans. C’est dans le restaurant de son parrain, le chef étoilé Paul Bajade, les « Chênes Verts » à Tourtour dans le Haut-Var qu’il découvre celui de la cuisine. Il y apprend le métier aux côtés d’un vrai chef patron : « Ça n’a pas été de tout repos, mais quelle aventure ! » avouera-t-il.

Son diplôme en poche, de passionnantes opportunités s’ouvrent à lui : La Belle Otéro à Cannes avec Francis Chauveau (2 étoiles au Michelin), un chef en quête de perfection constante.

Le Moulin de Roger Vergé (3 étoiles au Michelin), où il est témoin de la générosité d’un humaniste.

Le Bateau Ivre à Courchevel chez la famille Jacob (2 étoiles au Michelin), ainsi que La Bonne Étape chez la famille Gleize (1 étoile), où il découvre l’âme et l’esprit Relais & Châteaux. Les voyages à Londres chez Nico Ladenis (3 étoiles) sur Park Lane où il apprend la rigueur et l’organisation. Puis, le Maroc, la Norvège et le Mexique à Mexico City au Camino Real.
De son passage dans ces maisons prestigieuses, il retient l’essentiel et s’invente un style personnel. Son credo : « Oui au terroir et au produit, oui à l’esthétique quand elle est au service du goût » sans oublier les vertus de la rigueur. Il devient le chef du Daniel, Relais & Châteaux dans le VIIIe à Paris. C’est là qu’il obtient le Prix Jacquart du « Meilleur Espoir de la Cuisine Française », dont Yannick Alleno était le parrain. À la suite de cette rencontre, il part pour Courchevel où il prend les cuisines du Cheval Blanc aux côtés du chef 3 étoiles. C’est là précisément, après deux saisons, qu’il obtient la récompense de son travail acharné : 2 étoiles au Michelin 2010.

En juillet, il ouvre son restaurant, « La Place de Mougins » avec sa femme Muriel et toute son équipe ; l’esprit de famille étant la devise de la maison. Denis Fétisson vous propose une cuisine de marché, créative.

Et toujours ce souci du détail pour être au plus près des désirs de la clientèle et mettre évidemment en exergue ce savoir-faire à la Française qui relève de notre patrimoine.

Je vous invite à réfléchir à cette citation, car elle résume selon moi l’histoire de toute création :

Le souvenir de nos tradition n’est-il pas notre plus grand héritage
Denis Fétisson

Nous poursuivons notre quête vers l’excellence. Partager cette expérience avec vous est pour nous la plus belle récompense qui soit. Toute l’équipe de La Place de Mougins vous souhaite de passer un agréable moment dans notre belle maison, qui nous l’espérons restera inoubliable.

 

 Le calendrier des Produits à l’Honneur